2011-12 Championships and Major Accolades

Photos by Ron Waite
Photos by Ron Waite

The Albertus Magnus Department of Athletics had a very successful 2011-12 year, producing two GNAC Regular-Season Championship teams, one GNAC Tournament Championship team, two All-Americans and 33 All-Conference Team selections.

The following list highlights the 2011-12 major department accolades from throughout the entire year.

2011-12 Department Accolades

On Tuesday, May 8, the Albertus Magnus Department of Athletics held their annual banquet to honor and celebrate the success gained throughout the year. There were six department-wide honors given out as seven individuals earned those accolades. View Photo Gallery.

Male Athletes of the Year
Ray Askew, Men’s Basketball
Jamal Howard, Men’s Soccer

Female Athlete of the Year
Samantha Farley, Women’s Soccer

Male Rookie of the Year
Lindsley Barrett, Men’s Soccer

Female Rookie of the Year
Elaina Maio, Softball

Betsy Fahey Award Winner
Brittney Geremia, Women’s Soccer

Fan of the Year
Corey Schmidt, Director of Academic Advising and Student Success

Each program gave out its team awards at the end-of-the-year banquet on Tuesday as well. The list is as follows;

Men’s & Women’s Cross Country

2011 Men’s Cross Country Most Valuable Runner: John Snow
2011 Women’s Cross Country Most Improved Runner: Cara Ann Cama
2011 Women’s Cross Country Most Valuable Runner: Alisha Darin

Men’s Soccer

2011 Falcon Award Winner: Tim Mikita
2011 Most Improved Player: Josue Galo
2011 Most Valuable Player: Jamal Howard

Women’s Soccer

2011 Falcon Award Winner: Shannon Skidmore
2011 Most Improved:
Jessica Radecki
2011 Most Valuable Player:
Samantha Farley

Women’s Tennis

2011 Falcon Award Winner: Na’Tasha Mesidor
2011 Most Improved:
Gina D’Agostino
2011 Most Valuable Player:
Malika Grant

Women’s Volleyball

2011 Falcon Award Winner: Sotear ‘Lily’ Dy
2011 Most Improved:
Leanna Velez
2011 Most Valuable Player:
Nicole Acerra

Men’s Basketball

2011-12 Falcon Award Winner:  Arshad Jackson
2011-12 Most Improved: 
Darius Watson
2011-12 Most Valuable Player:  
Ray Askew

Women’s Basketball

2011-12 Falcon Award Winner: Annie Raucci
2011-12 Most Improved:
Lindsay Karle
2011-12 Most Valuable Player:
Lianna Carrero


2012 Falcon Award Winner:  Kyle Calechman
2012 Most Improved: 
Jon Almonte
2012 Most Valuable Player: 
Malcolm Mendez


2012 Falcon Award Winner:  Brianna Lord
2012 Most Improved: 
Krista LaBissoniere
2012 Most Valuable Player: 
Elaina Maio

Men’s Tennis

2012 Falcon Award Winner:  Riker Mitchell
2012 Most Improved: 
Richard Mitchell
2012 Most Valuable Player: 
Tim Gabbard

Men’s Volleyball

2012 Falcon Award Winner:  Carlos Torres
2012 Most Improved: 
Daniel Valmont
2012 Most Valuable Player: 
Brendan Charamut