Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Albertus Magnus Athletics

Field Hockey Earns First Postseason Academic Award

Photo Credit: Kayla Gosselin
Photo Credit: Kayla Gosselin

LINKS: National Academic Squad Release National Academic Team Award Release

GILBERT, Ariz. – For the first time in program history, the Albertus Magnus College field hockey team was honored with a Zag Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division III National Academic Team Award. In addition to the team's accolade, 10 Falcons earned individual honors by making the 2019 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad, as announced on March 12.

The Division III National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that recorded a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the 2019-2020 academic year. Albertus was one of 147 programs to earn academic honors from Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA, being one of the seven representatives from the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC).

As for the National Academic Squad, the Falcons' list of individual honorees included Monica Colon (Newark, N.J.), Veronica Colon (Newark, N.J.), Madison Duranleau (Wheelock, Vt.), Rochelle Furino (North Haven, Conn.), Gillian Kashuba (Hamden, Conn.), Ariana Martin (Hamden, Conn.), Katherin Martinez (Norwalk, Conn.), Joselyn Streeto (New Haven, Conn.), Victoria Torres (West Haven, Conn.), and Lillian Woods (New London, N.H.). To be recognized for this award, a student-athlete must have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2019-2020 academic year.

In its second varsity season, Albertus posted a 1-12 overall record, defeating Dean College, 2-0, on September 18 for the program's first-ever win. Martin led the way for the Falcons with five points on two goals and one assist, while Streeto (2) and Duranleau (1) also logged points on the season.

Albertus Magnus College

700 Prospect Street, New Haven , CT 06511800 578-9160 Privacy Policy