Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Albertus Magnus Athletics

Albertus Magnus College Holds Annual Athletics Banquet

Albertus Magnus College Holds Annual Athletics Banquet


New Haven, Conn. – On Tuesday, May 7th, the Albertus Magnus College Department of Athletics held its annual end of the year awards banquet to honor its student-athletes and coaches as well as to celebrate the success from this past academic year.

The Albertus Magnus Department of Athletics had a successful 2018-19 campaign with seven teams making a postseason appearance, including one team capturing a Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) Championship Title and making NCAA Tournament appearance, and 15 All-GNAC honorees.

The Falcons also recognized 50 student-athletes who made the Dean's List for the fall 2018 semester.

Members of the college community, including staff, administration and faculty, were invited guests to the awards night and we among the crowd to honor the Albertus Magnus student-athletes.

The Falcons awarded seven department-wide honors at the banquet as well.
The list is as follows:

  • Iron Falcon
    • Sasha Byrd (Hamden, Conn.), Field Hockey/Women's Basketball/Women's Lacrosse
  • Male Athlete of the Year
    • Mike Browne (New Fairfield, Conn.), Baseball
  • Female Athlete of the Year
    • Shyla Osmond (New Haven, Conn.), Women's Basketball
  • Male Newcomer of the Year
    • Elijah Spataj (Cheshire, Conn.), Baseball
  • Female Newcomer of the Year
    • Jess Stettinger (East Haven, Conn.), Softball
  • Betsy Fahy Award
    • Grace Vestro (Waterbury, Conn.), Women's Lacrosse
  • Coach of the Year
    • Mitch Oliver, Men's Basketball

Each program gave out its team awards at the end-of-the-year banquet on Tuesday as well.
The list is as follows:
Men's Soccer  

  • Falcon Award Winner – Kaj Djonne (Newtown, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Anthony Bartonlini (Waterbury, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Tyler Saad (Shelton, Conn.)

Women's Soccer         

  • Falcon Award Winner – Kaitlyn Ellsworth (Tolland, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Samantha Valentine (East Burke, Vt.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Haley Andrews (Prospect, Conn.)

Women's Tennis         

  • Falcon Award Winner – Nallely Magana (East Haven, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Cassie Couture (Waterbury, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Jessica Coughlin (Durham, Conn.)

Women's Volleyball     

  • Falcon Award Winner – Ashley David (West Islip, N.Y.)
  • Most Improved Player – Vanessa Isyk (Meriden, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player - Genesis Cora-Luquis (Meriden, Conn.)

Field Hockey 

  • Falcon Award Winner – Savannah Tibbetts (Hamden, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Madison Neilander (Wallingford, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Morgan Shura (Wallingford, Conn.)

Men's Golf      

  • Falcon Award Winner – Elijah Thomas (New Haven, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Quinn Oliver (Milford, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Brandon Fowler (Lexington, S.C.)

Men's Basketball         

  • Falcon Award Winner – Ryan Pittman (Stratford, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Damian Grant (Waterbury, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Tyreek Perkins (New Haven, Conn.)

Women's Basketball    

  • Falcon Award Winner – Jill Johnson (North Haven, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Kristin Cunning (Hoboken, N.J.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Shyla Osmond (New Haven, Conn.)


  • Falcon Award Winner – Marc Masciantonio (Hamden, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Shawn McFeggan (Anaheim, Calif.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Mike Browne (New Fairfield, Conn.)


  • Falcon Award Winner – Laura Anderson (East Haven, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Marissa Guglielmi (Branford, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Jess Stettinger (East Haven, Conn.)

Men's Lacrosse           

  • Falcon Award Winner – Andrew Luzzi (East Haven, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Mykel Stinson (Bridgeport, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – John Brunetti (West Haven, Conn.)

Women's Lacrosse     

  • Falcon Award Winner – Lexie Fenn (Oakville, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Kaitlyn Ellsworth (Tolland, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player - Kaitlin D'Agostino (Hamden, Conn.)

Men's Tennis  

  • Falcon Award Winner – Alex Hale (Wolcott, Conn.)
  • Most Improved Player – Nick Tagliaferri (Hamden, Conn.)
  • Most Valuable Player – Zak Levine (Hamden, Conn.)

Albertus Magnus College

700 Prospect Street, New Haven , CT 06511800 578-9160 Privacy Policy